About The Cowper Arms

The Cowper Arms at Cole Green is a proper country pub & restaurant, with low beams, roaring log-fires and a history as richly diverse as our range of real ales and wines. According to local records dated 1776, the pub was a den for bull-baiting (until it was banned, and quite rightly too), while during the 19th century rail boom it was known as the Railway Tavern (the landlord at the time even made bricks to help build the line).

Today we like to keep things simple, by serving fresh, seasonal food and maintaining a decidedly more relaxing vibe in our bar, which together with our large enclosed beer garden is dog friendly. We also like to do our bit by hosting regular fundraisers.

Signup for your voucher
Book your christmas party
Come inside and discover our Easter treats

Best pub in the village? Tell us how we did and you could win lots of lovely bubbly.

A photograph of the interior restaurant area of The Cowper Arms in Cole GreenA photograph of the interior bar area of The Cowper Arms in Cole Green

A photograph of the exterior of The Cowper Arms in Cole Green

Enjoy a complimentary mulled drink this winter


Sign up now and you'll be the first to know about our special promotions throughout the year. As a winter treat, you can enjoy a mulled drink on the house - it's the perfect start to the festive season. Plus, we'll help you add some sparkle to your birthday with a complimentary bottle of champagne!

By joining our mailing list, you'll receive the latest news and a treats straight to your inbox. Don't forget to join our Wine Club too (just tick the box) for more corking offers.

Opening times

11am-11pm Monday to Saturday,
11am-10.30pm Sunday

Food served all day

12pm-10pm Monday to Saturday,
11.30am-9.30pm Sunday

Christmas opening times

Thursday 18th December 11:00 to 23:00
Friday 19th December 11:00 to 0:00
Saturday 20th December 11:00 to 23:00
Sunday 21th December 11:00 to 23:00
Monday 22th December 11:00 to 23:00
Tuesday 23th December 11:00 to 23:00
Wednesday 24th December 11:00 to 23:00
Friday 26th December 11:00 to 22:30
Saturday 27th December 11:00 to 23:00
Sunday 28th December 11:00 to 22:30
Monday 29th December 11:00 to 23:00
Tuesday 30th December 11:00 to 23:00
Wednesday 31th December 11:00 to 1:30
Thursday 1st January 11:00 to 22:30
Friday 2nd January 11:00 to 23:00
Saturday 3rd January 11:00 to 23:00

Online bookings

You're welcome to pop in anytime, but if you're planning something special it might be an idea to book a table.

The Cask Marque Trust Logo

The Cowper Arms in Cole Green is a member of the Cask Marque Trust in recognition of its excellence in the service of real ale.

Real ale, real food and a really good atmosphere57 Cole Green Lane, Letty Green, Hertfordshire, SG14 2NLTel: 01707 330202